Click here to sign up
Public tour book Palace house book

The Newmarket Experience

The Newmarket Experience tour is perfect if you want to spend half a day getting to know more about Newmarket.  The Newmarket Experience is available on a selection of days throughout the year  for £60 per person. Alternatively,  private tours can be arranged on a day of your choice. Please contact us to discuss.   Please click here to read our COVID-19 advice page prior to booking.

This is a great experience if you want to see what life behind the scenes in Newmarket is like. Learn all about how the town came to be regarded as the Home of Horseracing as a result of its Royal links.

 

You will be taken onto the famed Newmarket training grounds before going behind the scenes at a racing yard to learn more about what goes into getting a horse prepared to race. Meet some equine heroes and the people involved. The package also includes a guided tour of The National Stud. This will give you the chance to learn more about the history and importance of this stud farm and the chance to see the stallions who reside here. You will also have the opportunity to meet mares and foals as well as retired National Hunt legends Lord Windermere and Jack The Giant.

 

This tour package also includes Morning Coffee and Cake.

 

This half day tour is perfect for anyone wanting to learn about the Sport of Kings or anyone who might already be a horseracing fan and wants to get closer to the action.

 

Tours are available on a selection of dates throughout the year .

Please Note: Due to COVID-19 our dates have changed and therefore may vary from those previously advertised.

In addition to the dates listed below, we are able to offer private tours, of up to 6 people of the same household, on a day of your choice. Please contact admin@discovernewmarket.co.uk for more information.

 

The Newmarket Experience is now available throughout the year on the following dates:

 

Monday 3rd  August
Friday 7th August
Monday 10th August
Friday 14th August
Monday 17th August
Friday 21st August

Monday 24th August
Friday 28th August
Monday 31st August

Friday 4th September
Monday 7th September
Friday 11th September

Monday 14th September
Friday 18th September
Monday 21st September
Friday 25th September
Monday 28th September

Friday 2nd October
Monday 5th October
Friday 9th October
Monday 12th October
Friday 16th October
Monday 19th October

Friday 23rd October

Monday 26th October

Friday 30th October

Monday 2nd November

Friday 6th November

Monday 9th November

Friday 13th November

Monday 16th November

Friday 20th November

Monday 23rd November

Friday 27th November

Monday 30th November

Friday 4th December

Monday 7th December

Friday 11th December

Monday 14th December

Friday 18th December

Itinerary

7.45 am – Meet your Tour Guide at The National Stud before departing to  Warren Hill.

 

8.00 am – A guided tour of the famed Newmarket training grounds. See some of the town’s equine residence going about their daily exercise and learn about the history of the gallops, how they came to be and their use today.

 

9.00 am  – Go behind the scenes of one of Newmarket’s racing yards. See what daily life in a stable is like and learn all about what it takes to get a horse ready for the races while seeing some of the routines and facilities on offer.

 

10.00 am – Morning Coffee and Cake

 

10.30 am  – Enjoy a tour of The National Stud. This is your chance to see the impressive stallions residing at the 500-acre stud. Meet mares and foals as well as retired National Hunt legends Lord Windermere and Jack The Giant. Learn about the formation of The National Stud and the role it plays today.

 

12 noon – Depart

Map Pin

Address

Discover Newmarket, Palace Street, Newmarket, UK

Send The Newmarket Experience an enquiry